Bridge to Independence (B2i) Advisory Committee

July 16, 2024 9:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Webex And Foster Care Review Office 1225 L Street, Suite 401 Lincoln, NE 68508

I. Call to Order and Welcome

Co-Chair Richard Hasty called the meeting of the Bridge to Independence (B2i) Advisory Committee to order at 9:36 a.m. and had members introduce themselves. Co-Chair Brandy Gustoff asked Adam Anderson to call roll.

II. Roll Call and Introductions

Committee Members present (6): Brandy Gustoff Richard Hasty Proxy for Sarah Helvey, Allison Derr

Committee Members absent (4):

Douglas Beck Diana Hernandez-Granillo Christina Lloyd

Ex-Officio Members present (2):

Lindsay Meyer

Ex-Officio Members absent (3):

Jennifer Skala Theresa Cusic

A quorum was present.

Guests In Attendance (10):

Adam Anderson Deanna Brakhage Brooke Fuhr Camas Holder Sage Leis

Mary Fraser Meints Shayne Schiermeister Sandy Stafford Terrence Williams Heather Wood

a. Notice of Publication

Recorder for the meeting, Adam Anderson, indicated that the notice of publication for this meeting was posted on the Nebraska Public Meeting and Nebraska Children's Commission website in accordance with the Nebraska Open Meetings Act. The publication would be kept as a permanent attachment with the meeting minutes.

b. Announcement of the placement of Open Meetings Act information

Felipe Longoria-Shinn Keenan Page Lana Verbrigghe

Susan Thomas Kitty Washburn

Colton Stogdill

A copy of the Open Meetings Act was available for public inspection and was located at the sign in table and on the Nebraska Children's Commission website.

*Minutes do not follow the order of the agenda.

III. Approval of Agenda

It was moved by Felipe Longoria-Shinn and seconded by Keenan Page to approve the agenda as presented. There was no further discussion. Roll Call vote as follows:

FOR (6):

Brandy Gustoff Richard Hasty Proxy for Sarah Helvey, Allison Derr Felipe Longoria-Shinn Keenan Page Lana Verbrigghe

AGAINST (0):

ABSTAINED (0):

ABSENT (5): Douglas Beck Diana Hernandez-Granillo Christina Lloyd

Susan Thomas Kitty Washburn

MOTION CARRIED

IV. Approval of Minutes

It was moved by Keenan Page and seconded by Lana Verbrigghe to approve the April 30, 2024 minutes as presented. There was no further discussion. Roll call vote as follows:

FOR (6):

Brandy Gustoff Richard Hasty Proxy for Sarah Helvey, Allison Derr Felipe Longoria-Shinn Keenan Page Lana Verbrigghe

AGAINST (0):

ABSTAINED (0):

ABSENT (5): Douglas Beck Diana Hernandez-Granillo Christina Lloyd

MOTION CARRIED

V. Co-Chair Report

Susan Thomas Kitty Washburn Co-Chair Richard Hasty noted that during the preparation for the meeting the main topics were discussion of the annual report and the workgroup recommendations incorporated into the report. Hasty welcomed Sage Leis, as she has joined the commission as Policy Analyst and began supporting the work of the Committees and Commission.

VI. Approval of the Annual Report

Sage Leis presented information regarding the B2i Annual Report.

Heather wood noted that the workgroup recommendations would include the 2023-2024 in the data collection workgroup recommendations. Adam Anderson noted that inclusions in the report should be discussed and edited during the approval process. Members discussed further inclusions. Heather Wood added that the workgroup would be including information from the summary slide of the FCRO review.

It was moved by Felipe Longoria-Shinn and seconded by Richard Hasty to approve B2i Annual Report with changes as discussed, including the addition of the 2023-2024 CQI data from DHHS and workgroup recommendations from the FCRO summary report. There was no further discussion. Roll call vote as follows:

FOR (6):	
Brandy Gustoff	Felipe Longoria-Shinn
Richard Hasty	Keenan Page
Proxy for Sarah Helvey, Allison Derr	Proxy for Lana Verbrigghe, Shayne Schiermeister

AGAINST (0):

ABSTAINED (0):

ABSENT (5): Douglas Beck Diana Hernandez-Granillo Christina Lloyd

Susan Thomas Kitty Washburn

MOTION CARRIED

VII. Workgroup Updates

a. Sustainability Workgroup

Keenan Page noted that the workgroup has paused during the summer. Page also noted that he is stepping away from the workgroup in order to pursue other opportunities. He noted that Cyrstal Aldmeyer will be the contact moving forward.

b. Data & Evaluation Workgroup

Heather Wood noted hat the workgroup hasn't met.

c. Immigration Status Workgroup

Felipe Longoria-Shinn shared that the workgroup hasn't met and will await further developments from the legislature.

VIII. Membership Update

Adam Anderson noted that there are many individuals not in attendance at the meeting who he will follow-up with to determine their intentions moving forward with the Committee.

IX. DHHS Update

Camas Holder discussed the shift under the prevention team under Holder. Holder also shared that with the addition of probation youth, DHHS will add a program specialist and an independence coordinator, with the option to increase independence coordinator with additional youth numbers. Camas Holder will take over for Lana Verbrigghe in August. Adam Anderson will follow-up Holder regarding the switch in appointment.

X. Public Comment

Mary Fraser-Meints thanked the Committee for their hard work on the report and moving forward with recommendation.

XI. New Business

Brandi Gustoff shared that Jacob's Place is celebrating 30th anniversary. Please reach out for an invite if you would like to attend.

XII. Upcoming Meetings:

a. October 29, 2024, 9:30am-12:30pm in person.

XIII. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 10:30am.